ATDis #11 The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad

Hello internet friends!

We are almost out of Lost Disney! This is the last movie of Lost Disney, and then we’re headed straight into the lovely forests of “Classic Disney,” as I will call it.

As for this movie (or rather these two combined shorts) I have a varied relationship with them.  I believe I watched the Mr. Toad portion of the film within the last two years, likely because my brother was in a play version of the Wind and the Willows with his high school.  For the Ichabod portion, I read “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” for a short story class I was in during the beginning of last summer, so it was interesting to see how the movie version compared.

I really enjoyed the setup for this film.  For those of you who haven’t seen the film, the introductions to each are zooming in on a bookshelf, asking who is the most famous character of English literature and listing off a few of the greats, then claiming that Mr. Toad was the best.  Then for Ichabod, the narrator spoke about how American literature had some great characters too.  I loved it.  I loved the whole bookshelves and “whose the best literary character of …” introduction.  I thought it was an extremely clever way to introduce the two stories as they were originally written by other authors.  I was just blown away for some reason by the cleverness of it all.  Maybe I’m just easily impressed.

As for the shorts themselves, I enjoyed both.  For Mr. Toad, I was bothered by the issues of scaling between humans and …….. animals, I guess would be how to describe them.  The doors for Toad Hall are normal sized, but the animals are short so the doorknobs are low, but the doorknobs are also giant (human sized?) so why aren’t they the right height for a human? Anyways.  I also was slightly questioning the society in which a toad can be tried in a human-sized court room.  I mean, come on, even the Bee Movie during the courtroom scene Barry has his own little baby desk on top of the real desk.  I will let the whole “oh humans and animals talking to each other thing” because it is a children’s book and a Disney movie.  I just want the scale of the doorknobs to be fixed.

For Ichabod, I thought it was a good G-rated version of the story.  I won’t go into what makes the original version not G-rated, because its easily found on the internet and you can read it yourself, if you find it all that interesting 🙂  I also thought it was very true to the story.  Also, I will say that Katrina was Cinderella.  Actually though.  They could be twins.  Seriously it was freaking me out.

As for Walt’s Legacy, I think these two short films were a way of easing back into the full length feature film category of movies.  These allowed for him to have two separate, well known stories complete with a beginning, a middle, and an end.  They were contained, well adapted, and a good pushing off point to continue doing what he did best.

Tune in next time for “the sweetest story ever told!” But don’t forget your slippers 😉

Leave a Reply

