ATDis #10 Melody Time

Hello Internet Friends!

For this blog, I watched Melody Time.  It was my first time watching all the shorts together as a whole, but I was definitely familiar with some of them (as will be discussed later).

This movie was one of the last to be made up of shorts.  The reason for this (as discussed in previous blogs) is that World War II was happening and a lot of Walt’s animators were out of office.  We are still in Lost Disney, but only for one more movie.

Of the shorts, I have a few favorites and a few I thought were pretty cute and then there were some I didn’t care for.

The first short was “Once Upon a Winter Time” and I loved the whole bunny-human parallel.  It was the story of a bunny couple and a human couple ice skating and the shenanigans that happen there.  I thought it was super cute.

The next short was Bumble Boogie (Flight of the Bumblebee animated) and I liked it, it was cute, but it isn’t the gold of this movie.

Then came Johnny Appleseed.  So I have a story with this one.  My momma grew up in south Georgia and with that comes a sort of Georgia charm.  We always prayed before we ate, and so whenever it was just my brother and I (or whenever we weren’t sitting down to a family meal) we would sing the “Johnny Appleseed prayer” (“The Lord is good to me and so I thank the Lord for giving me the things I need, the sun and the rain and the apple seed, the Lord is good to me! Hallelujah Amen).  We added the “Hallelujah Amen” part but other than that, this short is where that came from.  I didn’t know that until watching this movie here.  But now I know and I also loved this short.  The Guardian Angel and Johnny and all the “apple sass.”  It was a lot of fun.

Little Toot was adorable as well.  Andrew sisters singing about a trouble-making baby tug boat.  Go watch it.  It’s cute.  Trees was fine, I was bored but it was pretty.  Blame it on the Samba was cute with the complicate-name bird and Donald and Brazilian bird whose name escapes me.  Pecos bill was good because it gave me a story to associate with the restaurant in Magic Kingdom, but also the story was cute too.

Overall, this was a super cute movie, and I suggest it to anyone for sure.  It is (to me) the best of the “Lost Disney” so far (and probably in total).  As for Walt’s legacy, I think this movie is just further strengthening Walt’s storytelling ability.  It also reached out into some folklore that it hadn’t before.  In the last movie, we had a Jack and the Beanstalk story.  In this one we have Johnny Appleseed, a more American folktale.  I wonder if Walt knew that his version would become the most well-known in the future… Just goes to show the affect of his efforts.

Bring your pumpkins and your motorcars, we’re headed out to our next movie!

Leave a Reply

