ATDis #4: Dumbo

Hello Internet Friends,

Dumbo has a very special place in my heart.  Even though I would’t call it a “staple” in

IMG_2289
My friend, Amanda, and her boyfriend Nick on Dumbo (circa March 2016)

my house as a child (I never really saw it, in my memory, until I watched it on Netflix in high school), I have always loved the characters and music, and the ride at Disney World.  I think I also love the fact that the “Winter Quarters” for the Circus was in Florida, my home state, and there is an entire little moment of Casey Jr. rolling up through Florida to its next destination.

Something I wanted to finally figure out, 100%, was the gender of Dumbo.  As a  child, I had always thought Dumbo was a “he.”  Then, when I got older, a book called “The Kingdom Keepers” had a scene where the characters watched Dumbo to look for clues.  One of the descriptions they use is “mother-daughter relationships.”   So I watched the movie.  Dumbo’s “real” name is “Jumbo Jr.”   And, as his mother is named “Mrs. Jumbo” I assumed he was a “she.”  But I was still quite confused.

When I watched this time, this was one of my hidden goals.  And I have to say, I’ve finally done it.  While watching, the other characters call Dumbo “he” and “him.”  This should have been enough for me to be satisfied, but of course it wasn’t.  I had to figure out the name.  And I didn’t like “oh, Jumbo is a name for both boys and girls” as an answer.  So, what I’ve concluded is this.  Jumbo is the last name.  I think Mrs. Jumbo actually has a first name, but it is never revealed.  I also think Jumbo Jr. is the name of Dumbo after his father, but I can’t give you any more information to support this theory.  Maybe its as if his name is “Junior,” which is a thing, but instead they call him “Dumbo.”  Poor thing.

Also, I had never really cried in this movie, but when I watched it this time I balled my eyes out.  Yay.

Also, the Stork is OG Mary Poppins.  He does the “bag falling through the cloud while I’m sitting on it” way before she does.  (I checked the dates and everything.)

Also, I love Timothy Q. Mouse way more than Jiminy Cricket.  Timothy is a way better spokesman and also has a lot more sass.  If you disagree with me on this, or anything else, let me know why in the comments.

Also, Timothy is the OG Inception.

I think when looking at this from a “Disney Legacy” standpoint, this movie solidified the relationship/character aspect of Disney.   As discussed in prior blogs, Snow White created the legacy, Pinocchio solidified wishes, Fantasia solidified magic, and now Dumbo solidified family.  We have two characters, who never speak, and yet their love for one another is shown throughout the entire film.  I find it very telling that the characters with the most love speak the least.  I think Walt Disney was trying to use Dumbo’s story and characters to show how deep the relationships can be in life, and how these relationships can be shown in animated movies the same way as in other movies. I think he did a really good job.

Don’t be a deer in the headlights.  Tune in next time!

Leave a Reply

